A Grief Observed: Mi Papá, one of the Seven Spanish Angels…

My dad and I shared the affinity for Ray Charles music growing up, and one of the songs we loved was his duet with Willie Nelson, “Seven Spanish Angels.” So, This request (link) goes out to you pops.


Seven years ago today, I watched as the casket was closed on the man who gave me life. The ringing of the 21 gun salute still echoes in my ears. Even now when I visit his grave I feel the cold, empty void he left in my life. But…I smile and laugh as memories start flooding back.

The question is, have I fully dealt with the grief? Sometimes I think I have, and sometimes I am not sure. This seems to be the universal consensus; loss is the not so subtle reminder that “Time will never cower from the likes of me” – Heath McNease “A Grief Observed”.

Today I am feeling the loss a little more than other days and other May 7ths in the past. My thoughts drift to my own fatherhood and my own children. What will the twins do when I am gone? How will they remember me? Will I impact their lives so that I am forever ingrained in their souls? Will that cause them to smile and laugh when they remember daddy? I dunno, but I hope so. I hope that my legacy is that my children love me beyond the boundaries of language and expression, and that they know that I love them to that extreme as well.

So, I release this song, “Mi Papá”, to the world. I wrote it right after his passing. It is in Spanish, as I was in immersion-like Spanish classes that semester of college. I think that it is much more emotional this way. Also note that I am taking linguistic liberties with some of the phrasing. I am not too concerned with the posterity of the language for my artistic purposes; the meaning is understood clearly. —(I may post a link to an audio version, stay tuned.)

“Mi Papá”

Verse 1

Mi papá
Mi amigo                              
Saliste ayer
Yo canto hoy
Mi corazón, mi corazón es triste
Pero no lo eschuchas

My Dad
My Friend
You left yesterday
I sing to today
My heart, my heart is sad
Because you can’t hear it

Verse 2

Mi maestro
Me enseñaste mucho
Te encanta leer
Yo escribo
Mi historia
Mi libro es triste                               
Pero no lo leerás

My teacher
You taught me a lot
You loved to read
I write
My life’s story
My book is sad
Because you can’t read it

Chorus

Te amo mi papá
Te amo mi papá
Duerme in Jesús
 
Te amo mi papá
Te amo mi papá
Duerme in Jesús
 
Jesús no es triste

I love you dad
I love you dad
Sleep in Jesus
 
I love you dad
I love you dad
Sleep in Jesus
 
Jesus is not sad

Bridge

Todos los colores son blancos
Todos los colores son negros
Yo Bebo el mar
 
Yo lo lleno con lágrimas
Yo lo lleno con lágrimas

All the colors are white
All the colors are black
I drink the (entire) ocean (dry)
 
I fill it (back) with my tears
I fill it (back) with my tears

One thought on “A Grief Observed: Mi Papá, one of the Seven Spanish Angels…

Comments, Thoughts, or Suggestions?

