Survival Mode

!!Flashing Red Lights!!

!!Soul Piercing Sirens!!

The mechanical slamming of iron doors!

…the eerie silence of solitude.

I did it.  I pushed the button.
The one labeled PANIC.

It’s an involuntary setting
Auto-pilot for the soul
It causes me to numbly stumble along
racing toward an invisible end
The Present instantly melts in to Past
Future is history before it is lived
Head swivel incessantly, blurring all
Deadened fingers clutch nothing
Inconsistent footing fails
But like Weebles I don’t fall down
Closing my ears to the insanity of noise
Until thoughts are drowned by my monotonous voice

Comments, Thoughts, or Suggestions?

